Skip to Main Content Skip to Site Map Skip to Accessibility Statement

Launch of the New South West Acute Hospital’s Strategic Development Group


South West Acute Hospital Strategic Development Group

The first official meeting of the new South West Acute Hospital’s (SWAH) Strategic Development Group took place recently (24 August 2023).

The new group, which is made up of senior leaders and staff in the Trust, senior management and clinical leaders in SWAH, GP representation, key Community Stakeholders and independent health experts in addition to Senior Council representation, has a shared purpose to support the long-term sustainability and development of SWAH as an acute hospital.

The group has been established in direct response to address the views shared with the Trust during our public consultation events on the temporary suspension of Emergency General Surgery at SWAH noting “a lack of local influence or focus with no representation from the South West on Trust Board.”

Western Trust Chief Executive Neil Guckian and Co-chair of the group said:

“This is a very important step forward in the strategic development and direction for SWAH.

“We held a preliminary discussion meeting of the SWAH Strategic Development Group in June 2023, and this is something that has been welcomed by all stakeholders to date, including the Fermanagh and Omagh Council and the now established SWAH All Party Group (made up of 5 main political parties).

“As a group of senior influencers and external stakeholders we will drive forward our shared purpose to support the long term sustainability and development of SWAH as an acute hospital, and who will act as a Strategic Think Tank and Advisory Group to the Trust Board.

“I look forward to the continued engagement and discussions moving forward.”

Western Trust Non-Executive Director and Co-chair of the Group, Rev. Judi McGaffin added:

“I welcome the launch of the Strategic Development Group as an exciting and innovative initiative. I look forward to the group working to lead on the sustainability, growth and best practice of the Trust and in particular the South West area. I encourage all stakeholders to fully support the work of this Group to ensure that SWAH becomes a centre of excellence where innovation flourishes for the benefit of everyone in the local community.”

Jim Wilkinson, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health’s Healthcare Policy Group, said:

“I commend the Trust on a very innovative and responsive approach with the launch of the Strategic Development Group. SWAH is an intrinsic part of the Health and Social Care system as a whole. I look forward to hearing the ideas and strategies which will be discussed and employed within SWAH going forward for the benefit of the Fermanagh and West Tyrone Communities and beyond.”

This SWAH Strategic Development Group Membership is set out below.

  Name of Member
Chief Executive  (Joint-Chair) Neil Guckian
Trust Board Non-Executive Director (Joint-Chair) Judi McGaffin
Department of Health – Deputy Secretary, Healthcare Policy Group Jim Wilkinson
Department of Health – Director of Hospital Services Dr Tomas Adell
Medical Director Dr Brendan Lavery
Director of Planned Care (with overall responsibility for SWAH and Omagh HPCC) Mark Gillespie
Director of Performance & Service Improvement Teresa Molloy
Director Unscheduled Care, Cancer, Diagnostics & Medicine Geraldine McKay
Director of Nursing Donna Keenan
Deputy Medical Director Prof Ronan O’Hare
Divisional Clinical Director of Medicine (Southern sector) Prof Monica Monaghan
Asst Director of Operations SWAH & Omagh H&PCC Elizabeth Campbell
Asst Director of Nursing SWAH & Omagh H&PCC Carol Reid
Clinical Consultant Lead Integrated Care Southern Sector, Primary Care and Older People’s Services Dr Mark Roberts
Head of Corporate Communications Oliver Kelly
Public Affairs/Relations, SPOC MLAs, MPs; lead on SWAH All Party Group Chris Curran
South West GP Federation Chair Dr Laura McDonnell
Independent Expert Health Advisor Prof Mark Taylor
Independent Expert Health Advisor, Director of Public Health, PHA Dr Joanne McClean
Fermanagh & Omagh District Council, Council Chair & Chief Executive Cllr Thomas O’Reilly and Alison McCullagh
Independent Community Stakeholder 1 Bernie McCrory
Independent Community Stakeholder 2 Jenny Irvine
Service User Representative Dinah Shortt